Sustainability and social responsibility

Social and environmental responsibility has always been a top priority at Ch. Dahlinger, as is evidenced by our move to join the United Nations Global Compact on 13 June 2005. Our main production facilities are FSC-certified, ISO 9001-certified and SEDEX-audited and are also subject to ongoing supervision by our employees in Asia.


The United Nations Global Compact is the world's largest and most important initiative for responsible corporate governance. Based on its 10 universal principles, it pursues the vision of an inclusive and sustainable global economy that benefits all people, communities and markets, now and in the future.
The 10 principles of the UN Global Compact are derived from: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Labour Organization Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work, the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development and the United Nations Convention against Corruption.


As a company, we are committed not only to the responsible use of resources but also to ethical and social sustainability. Transparency and safety are important to us. To ensure that these commitments are adhered to, we commission independent institutions to audit our partner companies in Asia on a regular basis. These companies are audited based on the SMETA (Sedex Members‘ Ethical Trade Audit) audit procedure. The audit covers aspects such as working conditions, occupational safety and hygiene, as well as environmental management.


FSC® stands for the Forest Stewardship Council® and was founded as an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation in 1993 as one outcome of the "Environment and Development" conference held in Rio de Janeiro. The FSC system is committed to sustainable forest management and ensures that forests are used in accordance with the social, economic and ecological needs of present and future generations.
Dahlinger is FSC-certified. Our FSC licence number is FSC-C153455.

Dahlinger Eco Friendly



Dahlinger Eco Friendly is our label for products that are made predominantly from sustainable materials such as FSC-certified paper or cardboard and/or are sustainable in other ways.

Materials for the production of our boxes and cases

In order to live up to our responsibility for the environment, we use materials that are renewable and/or recycled to manufacture our boxes and cases to the greatest extent possible in order to conserve resources. An overview of the most important materials is provided below.

Products made of cardboard, paper, wood and MDF

Wood and wood-based materials are renewable, easy to recycle and biodegradable. Depending on the product, the proportion of used fibres, i.e. fibres that have been recycled, can be up to 80%. Sustainable forest management reduces CO2. As a result, boxes and cases made of cardboard make a significant contribution to protecting our environment.

Corresponding products in our online shop:

Products made of recycled plastics

Plastics have a better CO2 footprint than paperboard. However, crude oil is needed to produce plastics. Plastics can often by recycled and are also easy to recycle, which is a huge advantage. This is why we use only recycled plastics for our coated boxes. These plastics are extracted from leftovers from the plastic processing industry and households and are processed into new plastic granulate, which is then used to manufacture our box bodies. This allows us to conserve fossil raw materials such as crude oil.

Corresponding products in our online shop:

Compliance with statutory requirements

To ensure compliance with statutory requirements such as REACH, we subject materials to additional testing conducted by independent institutions such as DEKRA or SGS.

More than packaging

Our boxes and cases are containers for storing jewellery, watches and other valuables. They are designed to accompany the product for a lifetime. They envelop and visually enhance the product and are fun to unpack. Experience shows that consumers tend to keep the jewellery packaging and use it to store the product they have bought or to store other everyday items. Jewellery packaging is not a one-way product and stands out from conventional packaging by its nature and purpose.

Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Verantwortung

Soziale und Umwelt-Verantwortung werden seit jeher bei Ch. Dahlinger groß geschrieben. Dies haben wir mit dem Beitritt zum Global Compact der Vereinten Nationen am 13. Juni 2005 dokumentiert. Unsere wesentlichen Produktionsstätten sind FSC zertifiziert, ISO 9001 zertifiziert und SEDEX auditiert und unterliegen zusätzlich der ständigen Aufsicht durch unsere Mitarbeiter in Asien.


Der United Nations Global Compact ist die weltweit größte und wichtigste Initiative für verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung. Auf der Grundlage seiner 10 universellen Prinzipien verfolgt er die Vision einer inklusiven und nachhaltigen Weltwirtschaft zum Nutzen aller Menschen, Gemeinschaften und Märkte, heute und in Zukunft.
Die 10 Prinzipien des UN Global Compact leiten sich ab aus: der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte, der Erklärung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation zu grundlegenden Prinzipien und Rechten bei der Arbeit, der Erklärung von Rio über Umwelt und Entwicklung und der Konvention der Vereinten Nationen gegen Korruption.


Als SEDEX-auditiertes Unternehmen legen wir neben dem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Ressourcen auch Wert auf ethische und soziale Nachhaltigkeit. Transparenz und Sicherheit sind uns wichtig. Um dies sicherzustellen, beauftragen wir regelmäßig unabhängige Institute mit der Überprüfung unserer Partnerbetriebe in Asien. Diese werden nach dem Auditverfahren SMETA (Sedex Members‘ Ethical Trade Audit) überprüft. Auditiert werden Themen wie Arbeitsbedingungen, Arbeitssicherheit und Hygiene sowie Umweltmanagement.


FSC® bedeutet Forest Stewardship Council® und wurde als unabhängige, gemeinnützige Nicht-Regierungsorganisation 1993 als ein Ergebnis der Konferenz „Umwelt und Entwicklung" in Rio de Janeiro gegründet. Das FSC-System setzt sich für eine nachhaltige Waldbewirtschaftung ein und sichert die Nutzung der Wälder gemäß den sozialen, ökonomischen und ökologischen Bedürfnissen heutiger und zukünftiger Generationen.
Dahlinger ist FSC-zertifiziert. Unsere FSC-Lizenz lautet FSC-C153455.

Dahlinger Eco Friendly



Dahlinger Eco Friendly ist unser Label für Produkte, die überwiegend aus nachhaltigen Materialien wie z.B. FSC-zertifizierten Papieren oder Karton hergestellt wurden und/oder anderweitig nachhaltig sind.

Materialien zur Herstellung unserer Etuis und Schachteln

Im Rahmen unserer Verantwortung für die Umwelt setzen wir bei der Herstellung unserer Etuis und Schachteln soweit möglich Materialien ein, die nachwachsend sind und oder recycelt wurden und somit ressourcenschonend sind. Auf die wichtigsten möchten wir hier kurz eingehen.

Produkte aus Karton, Papier, Holz und MDF

Holz und holzbasierte Materialien sind nachwachsend, lassen sich gut recyceln und sind biologisch abbaubar. Je nach Produkt beträgt der Anteil an Altfasern, also Fasern, die recycelt wurden bis zu 80%. Durch eine nachhaltige Waldbewirtschaftung wird CO2 reduziert. Somit tragen diese Produkte maßgeblich zur Schonung unserer Umwelt bei.

Entsprechende Produkte in unserem Onlineshop:

Produkte aus recyceltem Kunststoff

Kunststoffe haben einen besseren CO2-Fußabdruck als Karton. Jedoch wird zur Herstellung von Kunststoffen Erdöl benötigt. Deshalb verwenden wir für unsere überzogenen Etuis ausschließlich recycelte Kunststoffe. Diese werden aus Resten der kunststoffverarbeitenden Industrie und von Haushalten gewonnen und zu neuem Kunststoffgranulat verarbeitet, welches wir zur Herstellung unserer Etuikörper verwenden. Dadurch vermeiden wir fossile Rohstoffe, wie Erdöl.

Entsprechende Produkte in unserem Onlineshop:

Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorgaben

Zur Sicherstellung der Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorgaben, wie beispielsweise REACH, unterziehen wir Materialien zusätzlichen Tests durch unabhängige Institute, wie die DEKRA oder die SGS.

Mehr als eine Verpackung

Bei unseren Etuis und Schachteln handelt es sich um Behältnisse zur Aufbewahrung von Schmuck, Uhren und anderen Wertgegenständen. Sie begleiten das Produkt ein Leben lang. Diese verhüllen, werten das Produkt optisch auf und bereiten Freude beim Auspacken. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass unsere Schmuckverpackungen von den Endkunden aufgehoben und zur Aufbewahrung des gekauften Produkts oder auch anderer Dinge des täglichen Lebens genutzt werden. Schmuckverpackungen sind kein Wegwerfprodukt und heben sich durch ihr Wesen und ihre Bestimmung von herkömmlichen Verpackungen ab.